Help figuring out efficiency issues

All discussions relating to AG go here

Help figuring out efficiency issues

Postby kast » Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:55 pm

I have a question for you all-grain brewers regarding sparge and lautering efficiency.

I just started brewing all-grain a few weeks ago. My first brew turned out great. It's a foreign extra stout that tastes great, real smooth, and ended up at 6.4%. The whole process took a while but was lots of fun.

Last weekend I brewed my second all-grain beer attempting an American Pale Ale. I'm not sure what I did wrong but my wort ended up WAY below my target OG. I was supposed to hit 1.054 and get around 24L to boil down to 20L. However, something went wrong and my efficiency suffered. greatly. The gravity never got very high and dropped rapidly. I ended having to stop collecting wort early because the gravity fell below 1.008. I only ended up collecting 20L that boiled down to 17L. After adding sugar and boiling my final gravity still was only 1.036. I was a bit disappointed that my gravity was so low and I ended up with less beer too!

Do you have any ideas why my efficiency would be so low? I used the fly sparge method just like the time before. Not sure what I would have done wrong. Perhaps the crush was too coarse and not efficient? Or too fine and got clumpy and stuck? I did have a brief stuck sparge but after stirring everything was fine. I think the water temperature was okay.

Let me know if you have any ideas or if you have experienced this before and what fixed it. I’m going to try again in another week or so. Also, do you all fly sparge or batch sparge? Have you noticed a difference in efficiency between the two methods? Batch sparge seems to be a lot easier but I've ready the fly sparging is more efficient and extracts more sugars.
kast
Wobbly legs

Re: Help figuring out efficiency issues

Postby stoutman » Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:48 am